Click here to find out how to get in touch!
Status:

Support Center

Contact Sync

In sales, you cannot make close deals if you do not have people to talk to. And having a large library of people to reach out to is the easiest first step to being good at sales. Simply put, the more people you have to talk to, the better your chances of closing a deal.
To help you with that, Pipedrive allows you to bring all of your contact lists together using the Contact Sync

To enable the Contact Sync, go to Settings > Customize > Personal > Connections > Contact Sync, provide the email address for the contact account you wish to sync into Pipedrive, and click the Add New Account button.




Pipedrive's Contact Sync work with major third-party contact providers to keep all of your information connected and updated.
The follow providers are allowed in the Contact Sync:

  • Google
  • Outlook.com
  • Microsoft Exchange
  • Microsoft Office 365
  • iCloud

When configuring your Contact Sync, you can choose which group of contacts to sync with, the direction you would like the sync to operate in, and the visible-to setting for those synced contacts when brought into Pipedrive.

connection_settings_contact_sync.png

The Sync Group option allows you to choose specific segments of your connected contact list that you may wish to sync to Pipedrive. In your chosen contact partner — like Outlook — these segments may be referred to by other terms, but will all still appear here under the 'Sync Group' dropdown. 
If there are groups that you wish to keep separate — like Family or Friends, for example — we suggest arranging your contacts in your contact list in groups to keep them separate, and choose the appropriate group to sync to Pipedrive.

The Sync Direction option will dictate how Pipedrive handles your information. If you would prefer to keep all information updated in both accounts, or to still keep your accounts segmented, you would make that choice here.

  • One-way Sync
    When contacts are created, updated, or deleted in the connected contact list, those synced contacts will be created, updated, or deleted within Pipedrive. Contacts created in Pipedrive, however, will not be brought over into the connected contact list.

  • Two-way Sync
    When contacts are created, updated, or deleted in the connected contact list, those synced contacts will be created, updated, or deleted within Pipedrive. When Person contacts are created, updated, or deleted in Pipedrive, those synced contacted also be created, updated, or deleted in that connected contact list. 

 

When choosing the Visibility option for your Contact Sync, you are dictating which users will be allowed to view or edit the contacts brought over from your contacts list.
Pipedrive companies under the Silver and Gold plans will have access to the following visible-to permissions for any contacts synced through the Contacts Sync: 

  • Owner's & followers
    Only the owner of the synced contacts — and the followers of those contacts — can view or edit its details.
  • Entire company
    Every user in the company Pipedrive account can view or edit the details of the synced contacts. 

 

A company account under the Platinum plan in Pipedrive will have access to the following visible-to permissions for any contacts synced through the Contacts Sync:

  • Owner only
    Only the owner of the synced contact can view or edit the details of the synced contacts.
  • Owner's role
    Only Pipedrive users in the same role as the owner of the synced contact can view or edit the details of those synced contacts. 
  • Owner's role, and roles below
    Users in the same role as the owner — and users in the roles below the owner's role — can view or edit the details of the synced contacts.
  • Entire company
    Every user in the company Pipedrive account can view or edit the details of the synced contacts. 

 

In the Field Mapping section of the Contact Sync, you will receive a preview of how information will flow between your Pipedrive account and its synced Contact List.  

field_mapping.png

Once you have set your configurations for your Contact Sync, simply click the Start Syncing button to finalize those details and begin the sync.
Once a synced has been established, returning to the Settings > Customize > Personal > Connections > Contact Sync will instead show you a dashboard of the information associated with your current sync, including total contacts in sync, and a tally of recent additions, updates, or deletions.  

contacts_in_sync.png

If you feel that there are contacts that have not yet been synced, you may click the Refresh button.
Clicking that button will immediately force a refresh of the Contact Sync, and update any sync information.