Note: This action is only available to Admin Users.
If an employee has left your company or simply no longer requires access, they can be deactivated from the Pipedrive company account. When a user is deactivated, all of the deals and contacts that they own remain in the account, but also remain owned by that deactivated user.
Prior to deactivating a user in your Pipedrive account, we suggest first seeing if there are any deals or contacts currently owned by that user. To do so, filter for items owned by that user, and use our Bulk Edit function to change the Owner of those items. If you have already deactivated a user that may still have items assigned to their user account, you can reassign the ownership of those items to another user in your account, using the steps shown here.
Note: Deactivated users will still appear in the Progress tab of your Pipedrive account, as their progress is never fully removed from the account.
To deactivate a user from Pipedrive, go to Settings > Manage Users > Users and Click on the Activated tab found there. If you hover over each user, you will see the option to see the statistics, edit, or deactivate each user. Click on the Deactivate option to deactivate the user you want to remove from your Pipedrive account.
When you deactivate a user, you will be asked if you would also like to remove that user's billed seat.
To understand the difference between a billed seat and a Pipedrive user, click here.
- If you remove this unused seat, you will receive a credit invoice for the time remaining in the billing period for that seat.
- If you do not remove this unused seat, then that seat still exists in your account and billing remains unchanged. This allows you to add another user to replace the deactivated user easily without having to process multiple billing transactions.
Pipedrive is billed by the number of active seats in the company Pipedrive account. Deactivating a user will decrease the cost of your Pipedrive subscription if doing so decreases the number of seats in the account. You can read more about the billing process in this article.
Even if you did not remove the seat during the initial deactivation, you can still remove the seat later. To do so, go to your Billing tab and click Remove unused seats.
Reactivating a user in Pipedrive
Any users that have been deactivated can also be easily reactivated again any time in the future. If you want to reactivate a user, you can switch over to the Deactivated tab and click on Activate next to the user you want to reactivate.
If there was an open seat in your Pipedrive account, the reactivated user will fill that seat without changing your billing information. If reactivating a user adds a new seat to your account, your billed seat-count will increase, billing you immediately for that new seat. You can read more about this billing process in this article.