Messaging inbox (BETA)
Messaging inbox is a section within the Leads Inbox where you can integrate messaging apps, like Facebook Messenger or WhatsApp by Twilio, to communicate with your customers and prospects directly from Pipedrive.
To find the messaging inbox, click on the leads icon in the primary navigation bar on the left-hand side, then Integrations > Messaging.
If you need to adjust the settings of the messaging inbox, go to Tools and apps > Integrations > Messaging.
One of the most important parts of sales is being aware of the progress of the conversations you are having with your customers.
You can receive notifications when:
- New messages are received in conversations assigned to you
- New messages are received in conversations assigned to other users
- New messages are received in unassigned conversations
- Someone assigned a new conversation to you
To stay updated, go to your messaging inbox and click on the bell icon at the top of the conversations inbox.
You will be prompted by a window where you can configure desktop and email notifications.
Once your notifications are configured, click on the green button to save the changes.
If you encounter any issues with your notifications, please check out our troubleshooting guide.
If you do not want to have any conversations assigned in your inbox, you can configure your availability status.
Click on the availability icon at the top of your conversations inbox to change your availability.
The green dot in the icon means that anyone can assign a new conversation to you. You can find the new conversations in the Assigned to me section.
The empty dot in the icon means that no one can assign new conversations to you (not even yourself). This status does not affect your ongoing conversations.
When a new conversation comes in, it will be visible in the Unassigned section. It can be assigned to any user with enabled availability by any user with shared access to the messaging inbox.
The assignee will get a notification for the new conversation if their notifications are enabled.
You can reassign or unassign conversations at any moment.
Closing and reopening
To keep your inbox decluttered, you can close those conversations where you think you finished your communication with a potential customer or client.
To close a conversation, click on the "Close conversation" button.
All closed conversations will appear under the Closed conversations section and be visible to all users.
You can reopen conversations anytime by clicking on the "Reopen" button within each conversation.
If a contact from a closed conversation contacts you again, the conversation will automatically reopen and appear in a section based on its assignment settings.
Only the user who installed the messaging app can delete conversations from the inbox by clicking on the contact's name and then "Delete conversation" in the dropdown section in the user’s detail menu.
Clicking on "Delete conversation" will permanently delete the conversation history from the messaging inbox.
The conversation data will remain available on the messaging provider's side. If needed, you will have to delete the conversation from the messaging provider separately.
The messaging inbox allows you to create new people, leads, or deals from within conversations or link a conversation to existing items.
You will see the options to create or add to existing items on the right-hand side of your screen.
Once a conversation is linked to a new or existing contact, lead, or deal, a note with the conversation history will be automatically created in the detail view with the following information:
- Last messages in the conversation with the sender's details
- Assigned status
- Link to messaging inbox conversations
New messages in the linked conversation received within 24 hours will be stored in the same note. Messages exchanged during a different 24-hour period will be displayed in separate notes.
If a note with a conversation history is deleted or changed, a new note will be created when a new message comes within 24 hours.