We're currently updating our Knowledge Base to reflect the new navigation. If you have any questions, contact our support team or ask in the community.

Knowledge Base

Mentions and Comments (BETA)

Pipedrive's Mentions and Comments feature allows you to tag your colleagues in your notes, bringing their attention to deals, organizations, or contact people.  This allows your team to collaborate more efficiently so that everyone can keep their work on track.

You can also comment underneath your mentions or notes, allowing for simple, fast, communication with your team. 

 


Using Mentions and Comments

To mention a colleague in your deal or contact detail view, simply type @ in your notes, and select their name from the dropdown list. The user drop-down menu will show a list of 8 users, narrowing down as you continue typing.  

Screen_Capture_on_2020-06-30_at_12-51-49.gif

You can also click on the @ sign in your notes section to @mention another user.

__sign.png


Comments

You also have the ability to comment under notes after being mentioned. This gives you the opportunity to communicate directly with your colleagues on any ongoing collaborations. 

Screen_Shot_2020-08-13_at_1.45.07_PM.png

 


 Notifications 

You can opt to be notified of any mentions or comments in your Sales Assistant panel and by email. These notifications can be managed by opening up your Sales Assistant and clicking on the Gear icon > Manage notifications. From there you can manage your notifications under the Comments and Mentions panels. 

Screen_Capture_on_2020-08-13_at_14-35-55.gif


Sales Assistant notifications

As soon as you have been mentioned by a colleague, you will receive a notification in your Sales Assistant displayed by the yellow lightbulb.  

Screenshot_2020-08-12_at_10.33.38.png

Click on the lightbulb to view your notifications. By clicking on the notification, you will be brought to the item page where you have been mentioned. 

Screenshot_2020-08-12_at_15.15.29.png


Email notifications

You can also opt-in to receive an email notification when you are mentioned by another user, or when another user adds a comment to your note. 

Screenshot_2020-05-12_at_12.35.47.png

By clicking View mention in the notification email, you will be directed to the item detail view where you have been mentioned with the note temporarily pinned and highlighted in blue.

Screen_Capture_on_2020-08-13_at_10-22-50.gif

When will I receive a notification? 

You can opt to get notified when any of the following occurs: 

  • You are mentioned by another user in a note
  • You are mentioned by another user in a comment 
  • Another user comments on your note
  • Another user comments on a note you have previously commented on

 


Deleting and updating notes

In order to editdelete or pin the note, scroll down to the note in the deal timeline, and select the More option on the note. You will also be able to edit or delete any comments you have added to a note. 

Note: Regular users will only be able to update their own comments, while admin users can update all notes and comments. 


Screen_Shot_2020-08-13_at_1.57.21_PM.png

 


Permissions and visibility

A user can only view and be notified of the mention or comment if they have the permission and visibility to view the item they are mentioned in. 


Permissions

Regular users will need to have the See other users permission in their permission set enabled. This will allow them to see who mentioned them and what other users have been mentioned in mentions or comments. 

Screenshot_2020-08-13_at_11.58.11.png

With this permission turned off, users within that permission set will see @(hidden user) in the note. A user with no permission to see other user will also not be able to mention other users in their own notes or comments.

Screenshot_2020-08-13_at_12.31.56.png

Note: If this permission set is turned off and an admin user mentions a user who is in the permission set, the mentioned user who is mentioned will not know who mentioned them, and the admin user will also be shown as (hidden user).   

 

Visibility 

The user's visibility group determines what deals, contacts, or other items they can see.  This means that if you mention a user in an item that they do not have the ability to access,  you will receive an error and the user will not be able to see it.

Screenshot_2020-08-13_at_14.42.51.png

Questions?    Get in touch